North West Limousin Show Team Rules

The Competition is for pedigree Limousin cattle exhibited by members of the North West Limousin club.

Membership is €20 and exhibitors must be paid-up before points can be awarded. Each category winner listed below will receive a special plaque at the end of the showing season.
The North West Limousin Show Team of the Year Competition will also be calculated based on the scores in the categories below. This is confined to a maximum of four cattle per exhibitor with the winner receiving €300 2nd €200 and 3rd €100. The exhibitor with the most points for a single animal will receive €100 and the best pair also €100. The top three from the team awards cannot receive either the best pair or best single award. The best single animal winner is ineligible for the best pair award.


Best Bull calf born on or after 1/3/17
Best bull born in January/February 17
Best Bull born in November/December 16
Best Bull born September/October 16
Best Bull born Prior to 1/9/16
Best Heifer born after 1/3/17
Best heifer born in Jan/Feb 17
Best Heifer born November/December 16
Best Heifer born September/October 16
Best Heifer born between 1/1/16-31/8/16
Best heifer born in 2015
Best female born prior to 1/1/15


Points are awarded at qualifying shows with the leading eligible exhibit in each category getting 3 points 2nd 2 points and 3rd 1 point. Breed champion gets a 2 point bonus and reserve gets a 1 point bonus. If the champion or reserve are outside the club area the bonus points are not awarded and North West Limousin Cattle are not judged again to fill the outside entrants position.

Qualifying shows

June 25th – Corrandulla Show, Co. Galway
July 9th- Ballina Show, Co. Mayo
July 16th – Riverstown Show Co. Sligo
July 23th – Erris, Co. Mayo.
August 6th – Claremorris, Co. Mayo.
August 7th – Bonniconlon, Co. Mayo.
August 7th – Castlerea, Co. Roscommon.
August 19th – Swinford, Co. Mayo.
August 19th- Roscommon Co Roscommon
August 26th – Enniscrone, Co. Sligo.
September 3rd – Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo.
September 9th – Strokestown, Co. Roscommon.
September 16th – Mountbellew, Co. Galway.
October 1st – Glenamaddy, Co. Galway.